Focus On: Mzwakhe Johannes Mtimkulu

“We all have dreams. But in order to make dreams come into reality, it takes an awful lot of determination, dedication, self-discipline, and effort.” -Jesse Owens

image
Mzwakhe Johannes Mtimkulu

Names: Mzwakhe Johannes
Surname: Mtimkulu
DOB:1988/04/2

Current Club: Magesi Football Club
Previous Clubs: Baroka FC, Winners Park FC both in the then Vodacom League, Mpumalanga Black Aces FC- loaned to Amazayoni FC & Soshanguve Shine FC.

Jersey number: 11
Social Media Presence: Mzwakhe Johannes Mtimkulu

Mzwakhe Mtimkulu from Boitumelo in the Vaal Triangle is a true example of a persistence. With a long history in South Africa’s semi-professional leagues, he has never let the shut door define the rest of his football career. Ever persistent, his path is more brighter having recently led Limpopo side Magesi FC to the National First Division, here he shares more about his journey & ambitions…

On the step up from amateur football & the journey that followed….

Mzwakhe Mtimkulu: It all started in 2008 if I am not mistaken. I started at Baroka FC and I played two seasons then I moved to Winners Park FC for a period of 1 season. I then had a trials at University of Pretoria (Amatuks)  and they promised to sign me but the move did not happen. I went back to Winners Park FC for another season. 2013 I signed with Aces but I did not play so I was loaned to Amazayoni FC after a season I then asked to go play for Soshanguve Sunshine FC. Aces then terminated and I found myself at home for a period of two seasons as I had no team. 2015/16 season I signed with Magesi FC and yeah we got promoted to NFD.

On what has kept him going all along & if he ever thought of giving up?

Mzwakhe Mtimkulu: Yes,it was not simple for me but I had to keep  hustling until things fell into place hey. Honestly I did want to give up but people around me kept on encouraging me, so that gave me hope & I told myself I would keep on trying again & again.

On how his move to Magesi FC happened & the teams triumphant 2015/16 season?

I worked with Coach Jacky Ledwaba at Winners Park FC, so Coach Jacky called me to Magesi FC to come work with him. Everything was well last season I must say considering the fact that I played most of the league games and we won 99% of them. Winning the promotion indeed felt great too.

On his career lowlight & highlight thus far?

Mzwakhe Mtimkulu: My lowlight was definitely at Aces, due to fact that I never played at all and the highlight was last seasons promotion to the NFD.

image
Winning promotion with Magesi FC ranks as Mzwakhe's highlight

On the team’s &  his goals for this season & upcoming years?

Mzwakhe Mtimkulu: For the team its maintaining the status for this season,then next season we looking to go to the Premier Soccer League. I would like to see myself playing for one of the big teams.

Mzwake’s favourites…

•In my spare time, I enjoying watching television.

•My favourite music include the Gospel, Hip hop & Soul music genres.

•My favourite Vaal-born footballers are Thabo Rakhale and Thabo Monyamane, of Orlando Pirates FC & Supersport United FC respectively.

Vaal Diski 9~Nine is proud of Vaal-born Mzwakhe,we wish him all the best as he continues to fly the Vaal flag high ⚽

Narrating The Vaal Triangle Football Story