Focus On: Sibusiso Phiri

Winners don’t do different things. They do things differently “.-Shiv Khera

                                          Player profile

image
Sibusiso Phiri

Name: Sibusiso Phiri
DOB: 21-01-1996
Nickname: Super

Club: Cape Town All Stars FC (National First Division)
Position: Midfielder
Jersey number: 15

Previous club/s: VUT, Mamelodi Sundowns Development , Bidvest Wits Development team,Bloemfontein Celtics Multi Diski Challenge & Celtic Colts (ABC Motsepe League team).
Social Media Presence: Sibusiso Super on Facebook

The journey to professional football is often long & challenging, hence when a player is given an opportunity they ought to give all their best. Having been coached by legendary midfielders like Mlungisi “Prof” Ngubane, Godfrey Sapula & Charles Yohane, there is no is doubt Unitas Park’s Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri has a lot to offer. Read on about his recent move to Cape Town & football journey…

On how Cape Town has been like thus far?

Sibusiso Phiri: Cape Town is good Bro, I can’t complain its just that the weather this side changes every now and then.

image
Working under the legendary Mlungisi 'Professor' Ngubane

On how his move to Cape Town All Stars FC came about?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: Bra Lucky Mhlathe took me for an assessment there, a week after the league closed then coach Mlungisi Ngubane was impressed. He invited me to join the team during pre-season & it was during pre-season that’s when he signed me obviously talking to Celtic first then the two parties came to an agreement then I signed at Cape Town All Stars FC.

On when he first met the round ball ⚽ & what has kept him focussed since?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: I started playin g at a young age, ahh cant remember exactly at what age but I think I was in grade 3 playing for Arcon Park Primary School & for City Khubeka’s (legendary Conti Khubeka’s son) team. What has kept me going is my family & friends that believed that I can one day play soccer professionally, because I grew up around people who loved soccer & who had played soccer professionally for example my dad, Sailor Tshabalala, Conti & City Khubeka.

On when did he start believing/picturing himself as a pro player & if its always been his dream?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: Yeah it has always been my dream. I started picturing myself as a pro when I got to play for Mamelodi Sundowns Development team.

On his time at Sundowns,how did he end up there & how was his stay at the club?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: Before I went there I was playing for VUT under then Coach Tebello ‘Benza’ Kheswa, he was the one that took us on trials there. I think it was six of us (from VUT) then we went through the assessment for about a week then they chose me & Tshepo Ntlaba & the rest from Pretoria & Kwa-Zulu Natal.

On how he felt & how he would conclude his time at Sundowns?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: Haha obviously I was happy not many youngings get the opportunity to play development football at a high stage. Great lessons learnt, I had a great time at Sundowns got to work under one of the best coaches I have ever met which is Godfrey Sapula learnt a lot from that guy. I also had an opportunity to work with Coach Rhulani Mokwena.

On how did the BidVest Wits move come to the picture & his overall experience?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: The time I left sundowns coach Charles Yohane from Wits already knew me so he wanted me to come join the team. My time there was great what I enjoyed the most there is that their development structure is similar to the development structures in Europe.

On his move to Bloemfontein, how was it like playing in the Multi Choice Diski & did he believe that turning pro was on the horizon?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: At Celtics I guess I wanted to go test myself if I could play away from Gauteng  (my comfort zone). Playing MDC was a great experience.

image
Super in action

On how he would you describe his style of play?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: Ahhhh that’s a difficult question but I’d say a midfielder who oo to keep the ball,long passes ,combination play & who simply would do anything in order for the team to come out victorious on a day.

On his ambitions for this season & for the upcoming years…

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: To play more games in my current team help the team win promotion get national call ups & when the time is right go play in the PSL or go play overseas.

On he handles challenges given he left home at an  early age?

Sibusiso ‘Super’ Phiri: Eish it’s tough playing far from home but it also helps u grow as an individual.I do face challenges but every challenge that I face I overcome it.

Whose had the biggest influence in your career?
•My parent.

What do you usually get up to during your time off?
•Going to the movies & playing PlayStation.

Whose your favourite Vaal player?
•Tshepo Ntlaba.

Vaal Diski 9~Nine salutes Sibusiso Phiri for flying the Vaal flag high. We wish him all the best in his career

Narrating The Vaal Triangle Football Story

Striking the Balance with Tumelo Mokwena

Striking the Balance with Tumelo Mokwena is a Vaal Diski 9~Nine feature every Monday…

Good morning to our elders, sisters, brothers & football fanatics. I would like to take this opportunity on behalf of Vaal Diski 9~Nine to send our condolences to the Tshabalala family of the untimely passing of their son, Mandoza. Rest in peace, pioneer of kwaito music!!!

Being Specific…

This morning I would like to share on us needing to be more specific in our goals to reach them. In the book of John chapter 5, we come across a tale of a man who was standing at the riverbank for a long time until Jesus appeared & asked him what he was doing to the man’s sudden response that he needed someone to help get in the river. We need as a people to be specific in our goals so as to reach them, many a time assistance comes along but we fail to give a detailed vision of our aspirations. The Lord answers our prayers but because we are not specific, we often do not revel in our various spheres. The opportunity will always be there, it is what we do when we get it that either minimises or maximises us in that sphere. Being specific can be compared to having a plan, without a plan we are often all over the place.

Being specific calls for us to develop & make use of our own methodologies, what might make you tick, might only take out average in me. The chance of being specific, speaks to an important topic of us needing to know ourselves. By being specific in our ways we are already 1-nil up in the pursuit of our goals. 

image
Vaal Diski 9~Nine Ambassador Tumelo Mokwena writes in his capacity as a Footballer,Postgraduate & devoted Christian

Until next week lets Maintain the Balance

Narrating The Vaal Triangle Football Story